Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: OBDII codes P0171 & P0170 Need Help!!!

Default OBDII codes P0171 & P0170 Need Help!!!

Hello. Newbie here. I have searched the posts but cant find much related to my problem. I have a 1999 Honda Accord (4cyl, VTEC, 5spd, 179K miles, bone stock...no mods) that keeps throwing codes P0171 and P0170. It runs like a top but wants to chug just a bit when cold, like its not getting enough gas. When I clear the code it stays out for a few days and then pops back on and then stays on. I have noticed that it is more inclined to come on when I have others riding with me (heavier load). I have looked for vacuum leaks and have found none. I cant afford to throw money at it and can do most of the work myself if I could get some idea of the problem. Is this a common problem with the Hondas? Is there a "more likely than others" solution? O2? Fuel Regulator? How do I go about checking for any possible fix? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!
    Last edited by scout68; 01-12-2007 at 08:25 AM.

Default codes

Hey man, I have a 98 Accord and mine does the same thing. It was fine until I took it to emmisions to have it checked(they rape cars), as soon as I drove it home my check engine light turned on. I checked but no codes flashed, so I reset it. It was fine for about 2 weeks and then it turned on again. I think that it might be common for accords to throw the light on because my buddy who has a 98 v6 always has his pop up on him. Sorry I know it doesn't really help your situation, but just letting you know that you're not alone

P0171 is the code for "fuel system too lean" and im not too sure what code P0170. that code normally comes up when there is moisture in the fuel pressure regulator. best way to fix it is to replace the fuel pressure regulator
    2008 Civic SI
    2006 CBR600F4i

Default I know the answer