Thread: h22 Engine swap for 1997 Accord SE

Default h22 Engine swap for 1997 Accord SE

Hi, this is my first post here, and i've been reading a lot about how to increase the power of my 1997 accord se. I love the car, aesthetically it's in great condition, I just wish I had more power in it. I have very little actual experience working on cars, but I am trying to learn.

One of the things that people have done is to add a H22 prelude engine in there, and I was wondering a few things:

Supposing I wanted to make this a project and learn how to do it in the process:
    1) What is the exact engine I should get? Does it have to be same year?
    2) Where is the best place to get said engine?
    3) If I were to do the swap, what else would I need to change (other than I/H/E) i.e. would I have to also get a new transmission?
    4) What does it mean to "tune" an engine and where would I take it to get that done?

I'm sorry if a lot of these questions have been repeated before, it's just that so much of the info is spread out and some is just for older models and such.

Unfortunately, i'm late getting into the car modding scene (I'm a computer type guy), but it's never too late to start, right?

Man, you sound like me when I first started! I was 23 when I got serious with my car.

Anyway, the 97 is probably the last year for the easy H22 swap. I believe there is VERY little work needed to get it properly mounted (one mount needs something done, I think...)

TECHNICALLY you're not allowed to have a motor that is older than your car... which means you'll want a 97+ motor. HOWEVER, unless someone reads the stamps on the head, they won't be able to tell. CA is probably the only state anal enough to bother with that. Your motor is OBD2 (the onboard diagnostics electronics) so you'll want to at least get a 96+ motor... or rewire for OBD1 (which is easier to tune)