PDA

View Full Version : JDM headlight question

lucaq
10-25-2002, 12:10 PM
So i am a novice headlight guru (i wish there was a lighting forum here) and i have a question about JDM headlights. They are intended for right hand drive correct? They are ECE code? That means that they have a splash-up on the left hand. Do people that convert to JDM spec here in the us try to fix this prob or do they even care that they can blind other drivers? The upward splash causes alot of glare for drivers in Left Hand Drive countries such as USA when it was origiontally intended to illuminate streetsigns. Is there any way to fix it? Would LHD spec ECE code lights still be considered "JDM" if they took H series bulbs instead of 900X bulbs?

I think i found some ASS HOLE in a civic the other day with retro-fitted HIDs in JDM housings because they were so offensively blinding that i had to pull over. It looked like he had aimed them up and had his brights on! That is what inspired me to ask.

Toda Party
10-25-2002, 01:00 PM
you're right, a lot of people don't readjust their headlights to aim the opposite way with jdm lights.

people with integras know that the left light doesnt illuminate as far as the right side light does...since its reversed in japan, you blind oncoming traffic, and don't get as far on the right side for signs..

Don't know what u mean by ECU tho

lucaq
10-25-2002, 03:41 PM
If you don't know what i mean by ECE, it is a european union thing (which japan is part of as far as lighting is concerned). Basically they all agree on auto standards and markings to indicate compliance. They all accept other's compliance approval but to denote the country of origin they have a code number. Here is an exerpt from Daniel Stern lighting (lighting.mbz.org).

"