PDA

View Full Version : b16a2 swap help



bLoW mY TrEaTs
04-25-2006, 02:15 PM
I am looking to put a b16 into my 95 ex, but need a complete walkthrough because im getting confused? help please, its mostly about how to re wire the stuff. The engine I have now is the d16z6, can i use my same harness or what?

Batman™
04-25-2006, 07:01 PM
go to rywire.com get a conversion harness. plug conversion harness in between ecu and new harness. go to hasport.com and get a set of motor mounts to put the b16 into your car. put motor into car using all mounts. plug new harness into new motor. plug new axles into new tranny. connect new tranny to shift linkage and shift stabilizer. put new oil in new motor. put new tranny fluid into new tranny. hook up hydraulic cluth linkage. put clutch fluid into reservoir. bleed clutch assembly. start motor. drive the car.

bLoW mY TrEaTs
04-26-2006, 01:38 PM
Thanks dude.....I know it sounded like a dumb question but I dont want to put all that money into a motor a screw something up. Thanks again

bLoW mY TrEaTs
04-26-2006, 01:44 PM
So I went to rywire.com but they didnt have the EX subharness, will the DX/LX subharness work for my EX

95civicex
04-26-2006, 01:48 PM
usdm or jdm b16?
usdm then yeah, you just need a conversion harness for obd2b-obd1 conversion harness.

if its jdm, then just use your stock d16 wire harness. you'll have to lengthen the o2 sensor wires, add a knock sensor wire and lengthen the vtec solenoid wires.

The lengthening is pretty straight forward. Just cut out those wires on the harness, get a pieces of wire long enough, solder it in place.
When I added the knock sensor all I did was run a wire from the knock sensor, threw the firewall and into the ecu
http://llamaproductions.net/Pictures/obd1.jpg

bLoW mY TrEaTs
04-27-2006, 09:51 AM
Im getting the jdm b16. thanks for the info

bLoW mY TrEaTs
04-27-2006, 09:58 AM
do i need to get the new motor mounts or can i use my stock ones

Batman™
04-27-2006, 07:44 PM
new ones, as i said in my first post.

bLoW mY TrEaTs
04-28-2006, 01:57 PM
anybody have any recommendations on websites to order from, i've heard osakajdmmotors.com is pretty good and hmotorsonline.com too. anybody order an Si-R b16 from somewhere else and get a good motor?

95civicex
04-28-2006, 02:49 PM
I got my b16 from hmotors.
Came with everything I needed (except the whole wireharness thing, which I already went over..just use the d16z6 harness)

I ordered a b16 from osakajdm too, but it came with a destroyed cam gear and a shredded timing belt. I sent it back, took a long time of dealing with them on the phone and ended up getting my money back for the engine and shipping to me, but in the end still lost money having to ship it back to them.

Batman™
04-28-2006, 03:12 PM
in my experience, hmotors tends to be the best.

bLoW mY TrEaTs
05-01-2006, 02:12 PM
thanks for the info im gonna order it pretty soon

bLoW mY TrEaTs
05-10-2006, 10:06 AM
Okay so I wasw looking at hmotorsonline and it had the complete swap for like 2250 or so, it says it comes with axles and mounts and everything else so would i use the mounts or would i have to buy new ones, i know batman usaf said i need new ones but thats when i asked if i could use my stock ones, so would i use the axles and the mounts that came on the engine

95civicex
05-10-2006, 01:08 PM
yep, you use everything they send you except the wiring harness.

bLoW mY TrEaTs
05-17-2006, 09:48 AM
has anybody ordered from passwordjdm.com, i was looking through my superstreet magazines and it seems like alot of people with civics and integras gave props to them, i could order a whole rhd front clip from there for 2500 plus 600 shipping, now im wondering if i should do that:-?

XGRaViSmOrSX
05-17-2006, 10:26 AM
rhd is only worth it assuming your going to go w/the whole conversion.

but in most cases the clip is in horrible condition and isnt worth using anyways.

so i would say just go w/ the complete swap and forget the front end clip...

bLoW mY TrEaTs
05-17-2006, 01:37 PM
yeah the pictures looked like it was in crappy shape, i just thought it would be awesome having a rhd civic

Batman™
05-17-2006, 11:12 PM
if you want a rhd clip, get it from jarco inc.

bLoW mY TrEaTs
05-26-2006, 01:42 PM
alright i ordered it awhile ago and so before it gets here, i was just wondering for the people who have done the swap what the hard parts were. you know like the things that took them for ever to get done...or the little things that were a pain in the ass to do

XGRaViSmOrSX
05-26-2006, 03:00 PM
b-series swaps into 92-95 civic's are the easiest known to man.

bLoW mY TrEaTs
06-15-2006, 04:26 PM
alright....i was putting the motor in and noticed that the harness is on the right side...me being the dumbass i am overlooked it so i was suprised when i saw that. should all i do is grab some zip ties an take the harness and stuff off their brackets and the zip tie them so their shorter. yeah and i guess the motor is from a Del Sol SiR in japan so its the b16a3 right. so does that make it any difference. than the a2?

chrishorsman
07-09-2006, 01:25 PM
the only difference between the a2 and a3 is that the a2 came with upgraded OBD2 emissions system that is mandatory for all 96+ civic swappers. you should look in the engine swapping guide it tells you on there.

XGRaViSmOrSX
07-09-2006, 06:53 PM
the reason the harness is different is because in japan the car is RHD.

so the ecu is on the opposite side of the car along w/ the master cylinder and everything else.

just use an obd-1 vtec harness