PDA

View Full Version : F22 Comparison.. What's the difference?

GreenHonda
02-21-2006, 10:24 AM
What exactly is the difference between the F22A1 and the F22A4? Other than 5hp, What did they do differently on the A4 to give it that little extra? Was it just because of the transmission? If I'm not mistaken, the A1 is a manual, and the A4(my engine) is an auto.
:scratchch

deevergote
02-21-2006, 02:42 PM
The transmission is only power transfer... you'll never gain or lose power based on transmission gearing. ALL of the F22A engines (USDM anyway) come with manual or automatic transmissions.

I'm no expert on the F22A4, since it's the worst F22A engine made, IMO. The differences in power most likely lie in the intake and exhaust manifolds (same with the F22A6). I believe the head is also somewhat different (the F22A4 has been rumored to have some major exhaust valve issues on #3...)

GreenHonda
02-21-2006, 03:03 PM
Ive never had a prob with mine. It's always been a smooth running engine. thats why I decided to do a build up on it.

what makes it the worst engine? I have dumped a shitload of money into rebuilding this engine. is it just the internals, or is it block issues, head, or otherwise?

deserthonda
02-21-2006, 05:06 PM
Accord DX/LX: 2.2L(2156cc), F22A1, MPFI, SOHC 16-valve (single exhaust manifold)

Accord EX: 2.2L(2156cc), F22A4, MPFI, SOHC 16-valve (dual exhaust manifold)

deevergote
02-22-2006, 09:43 AM
I've been told there's a flaw in the head... I never got details, but I have a friend that managed to fry the 3rd cylinder exhaust valves on two seperate heads. His car was automatic, completely stock (he never had money to modify it, he was always fixing it!) and he never pushed it hard. The fact that the same issue occurred on two seperate A4 heads led him to believe it was a design flaw. It's not "proof" but it's stronger evidence against that motor than the other 2.