PDA

View Full Version : walkthrough on changing belts



evan wile
12-17-2005, 11:55 AM
i bought new belts to replace my loud and sqeaky ones. got the power steering and the alt belt on the 1.6l sohc engine

im pretty sure i can figure it out but if anyones done it before just give e a heads up, also what should i look for in the pulleys that are making them loud? can i lube them up at all?

thanx

Batman™
12-17-2005, 02:17 PM
prestone belt dressing at walmart. don't lube them silly. they're supposed to grip. and lube would make them slip.

bigdnl
12-17-2005, 06:46 PM
prestone belt dressing at walmart. don't lube them silly. they're supposed to grip. and lube would make them slip.

heh

evan wile
12-18-2005, 06:57 PM
haha thanks for that heads up ;)


but how do i go about changing the belts? do i have to remove a pulley? is there a tensioner?

let mek now thanx!

MiMiK
12-19-2005, 12:40 PM
tensioners.

jaywill
12-19-2005, 07:25 PM
but how do i go about changing the belts? do i have to remove a pulley? is there a tensioner?

let mek now thanx!

No need to remove any pullies. just adjust the tensioners and they should come right off and make sure you tighten them back after you install the new ones.